Stories from the Train Platform...

All other Theme Park Employees post your stupid guest tricks here. This forum is not for general Theme Park discussion. Please use the Break Room, for non stupid guest trick topics.
Dexter32
Wide-eyed Newcomer
Wide-eyed Newcomer

Stories from the Train Platform...

Post by Dexter32 » Sun Sep 14, 2014 12:58 am

Hey Guys, new guy here working at a small theme park in Idaho. I've been working at the park for about two months now and while I haven't seen it all or heard it all. There have been quite a few interesting things happen lately.

So just today, just after the train departed the station I headed to the front of the depot building to answer guest questions and such. Most popular questions for me are usually, when is the train coming back, when is the next train and of course, where is the bathroom.

We have a sign in front of the station that reads "Train Departs on the hour every hour. *Except on busy days where the train leaves when it is at capacity." A guest looked at the sign and stared at it for what I'm going to call an abnormal amount of time (3 minutes.) Then turns to me and says, "I don't understand what this means. (points at sign)" I look at my watch and tell them that the next train leaves at whatever time was up next.

I've also noticed that, while I wear a watch because I have to and don't feel right without one on. None of our guests do. Typically during an interaction regarding when the train comes back I am invariably asked what time it is. Most of those guests either don't come back or come back as the train is leaving.